The Coyote and the Cliff

That moment when Wile E. Coyote looks down and realizes that the cliff he’s been running on is no longer underneath him?  There’s a word for that.  Anagnorisis.

Aristotle writes in his treatise of literary criticism, the Poetics, that anagnorisis is “a change from ignorance to knowledge.”  We might translate the word as “discovery,” or perhaps more fully as “moment of recognition.”  He links it with the peripeteia, or “reversal of fortune,” that brings about the tragic hero’s downfall.  These are insights about tragedy, of course, but they seem to work as well for comedy.

What is so great about Wile E. Coyote’s moment of recognition, to my mind, is the look on his face.  As it dawns on him that he is not on solid ground, he knows that he must fall.  But that instant just before he falls in fact captures a much deeper realization, I think.  He can never catch the Roadrunner, as he knows in his heart of hearts.  Despite his elaborate schemes and the promises of the Acme catalog, he can never succeed.  His is a comic situation, but the certainty of failure is not funny.  It would be too much to call it tragic, so let us settle on it’s being human.

We must remember, in this context, that Wile E. Coyote is just one more representative of all those Coyotes of Native American mythology in whose foolish behavior human wisdom is revealed.  In the end, we all will run off our cliffs and fall.  Perhaps we will have the presence of mind to recognize that instant as the defining moment of our humanity.

About Uncomely and Broken

I am a classicist in Sewanee, Tennessee.
This entry was posted in Cartoons, Classics, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Coyote and the Cliff

  1. kvennarad says:

    The Lament of Wile E Coyote

    Even though my name is Wile E
    I am not quite feeling smiley
    My gestalt today is “slyly”
    After Roadrunner I go.

    Every day I’m getting thinner,
    For I go without my dinner,
    Someone else ends up the winner –
    Everybody tells me so.

    I buy all my stuff from Acme,
    If you think I’m wrong, just sack me,
    But if not you have to back me,
    I have every strange device

    Like a rocket-driven scooter,
    With a laser-missile shooter,
    That’s controlled by a computer –
    (Roast Roadrunner would be nice!)

    I have one compulsion, given
    That I am so very driven,
    And I will, at last, be shriven
    When that bird’s in pitta bread!

    The Acme salesman said it
    (The truth? Somehow I dread it)
    “If you have so much dang credit –
    Get a pizza sent instead!”

    (c) M – sorry for blogging on your blog. I couldn’t resist it. Great post, by the way.
    __________
    Marie Marshall
    author/poet/editor
    Scotland
    http://mairibheag.com
    http://kvennarad.wordpress.com

  2. kvennarad says:

    (Forgot to check the ‘notify’ box. Gah!)

  3. corax says:

    you know how much i’m thinking about the POETICS. but i have never come across a more perfect illustration for ‘anagnorisis’ [or for that matter ‘peripeteia’] than the one you’ve chosen here. thank you! i will try to give you proper credit whenever i steal, er, cite it.

  4. Pingback: The itch is back | The Blue Backpack – a travel blog

  5. Pingback: COYOTES LOSE | dan4kent

  6. Pingback: America’s Debts: Sorry But Things Are Not Fine, and the Foreigners And Minorities Are Not to Blame | Saying the Unsaid in New York

  7. Pingback: Once again, I’m writing for the business section | Rob Pegoraro

  8. kylere says:

    Thanks for this, I need exactly this word and a google search for “wile e coyote REALIZING” brought me here.

Leave a Reply

